Wow…it’s been a week! I knew I had a long bike ride ahead of me and wanted something delicious to share with friends when I arrived at my destination…these were perfect! The recipe is from Hell Yeah It’s Vegan! http://hellyeahitsvegan.com/?p=1789#more-1789

I initially thought they were going to be too dry to taste anywhere near satisfactory, but they weren’t dry at all! The bars were crumbly, moist, and savory/sweet. Enjoy.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Bars

¾ c peanut butter
3 tbsp oil
1 c turbinado (or light brown) sugar
2 tbsp ground flax seeds
3 tbsp warm water
1 tsp vanilla extract
1½ c flour
2 tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
3 tbsp water
1 c vegan chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a 9×9″ baking pan. In a large bowl, cream together peanut butter, oil, and sugar. In a small bowl, whisk together flax seeds and 3 tbsp water. In a small bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add dry to wet mixture; mix well. Add 3 tbsp water to soften the dough; it should be a texture similar to cookie dough.

Fold in chocolate chips. Press mixture evenly into prepared pan, and bake for 18-22 minutes, or until top is golden. Let cool in pan; slice and serve.

